February 20, 2016 (GMN) - Amharic (Ethiopian official language) has now been included in Google Translate, along with a dozen other languages, according to Google’s blog.

Since 2006, Google Translate has grown to include 103 “machine learning-based translations” encompassing 99 percent of the online population, according to the blog.

The new languages now allow another 120 million people to communicate via Translate using Amharic, Corsican, Frisian, Kyrgyz, Hawaiian, Kurdish (Kurmanji), Luxembourgish, Samoan, Scots Gaelic, Shona, Sindhi, Pashto, and Xhosa.

Google says it scans the Internet for “billions of already translated texts” and uses “machine learning to identify statistical patterns at an enormous scale, so our machines can ‘learn’ the language. But, as already existing documents can’t cover the breadth of a language, we also rely on people like you in Translate Community to help improve current Google Translate languages and add new ones, like Frisian and Kyrgyz. So far, over 3 million people have contributed approximately 200 million translated words.”

Source: Google Translation

Follow us on social media

Connect with us on facebook